Home

“Wee theme? Run with it!”

Women’s, B+ grade

Appearance: Bravo, Otorohanga! Regional towns take note: if you have a wee theme, make sure your toilet runs with it too. I practically skipped up the path to read the toilet monikers painted outside the men’s and women’s entrances. Such a fun touch! The cute Kiwiana tiles! The beautiful paua shell tile trim! It’s enough to bring a tear to the eye of even the most hardened of toilet reviewers. There’s definitely more updating and kitsch Kiwiana theming that could be done to bring this up to an A grade, but as it is, you’ve done a great job, Otorohanga!

Smell: Fresh as.

Paper: I don’t know who was at fault here: me, the bog roll, or the bog roll holder, but that holder refused to relinquish the paper! On and on I pulled and attempted to rip. To other toilet-goers, it must’ve sounded like I was in that cubicle for the long haul.

Flush: A hearty roar backed up by a job done well.

Washing: Soap, clean sinks, and a powerful drier.

Best: The little Kiwiana tiles dotted about the place. There was even a kiwi and sheep ready to greet me as I entered the cubicle. Lovely!

Worst: The soap is one of those sticky little numbers that, without extra zealous rinsing, you realise halfway through drying that you need to nip back to the sink again for another wash.

One thought on “Otorohanga (AKA the Kiwiana capital), Waikato

  1. Totally agree. I recently passed through the big O on my way to New Plymouth and eschewed the BP loos due to heavy traffic. Boy, was I glad I did. These are some of best public loos I’ve ever seen. Clean, efficient, and adorned with lovingly handcrafted kiwiana tiles! So good.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment